St Johns Wood

Cub Scouts

About Cubs

Cub Scouts is for boys and girls aged 8 to 10 years, and focuses on exploring the outdoors, discovery and learning interesting things! Cub Scouts belong to a Pack and begin to learn leadership and teamwork in small teams called Sixes.

If you enjoy fun, games and learning new skills then you’ll love being a Cub Scout! You’ll get to go on camps with your Pack, and you might attend a Cuboree camp with hundreds of other Cub Scouts! As well as learning things like how to use a compass, you’ll go on bushwalks, bike trips, and have the chance to do things like sailing, canoeing, abseiling and sometimes even flying!

Your Cub Scout Leader will help you along the way and encourage you to take part. You’ll learn life-long skills, make friends and have fun! Cub Scouts are keen to learn, belong, and have fun, so our activities are designed to stimulate their emotional and adventurous spirits

Cub Scouts sometimes seem to be speaking a different language. At cubs our program and learning is based around the theme of The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling’s. Our leaders are named after characters of the book, Youth are allocated to a Six, and will wear the colour patch of their Six on their left sleeve. The Sixer, who wears a Sixer badge on their pocket, is responsible for the members of the Six and acts as team captain in games etc. They are assisted by a Second who wears a Second badge.

If your child has moved up from Joeys they can continue to wear their Joey uniform including scarf and woggle until the day of their investiture where they will wear their cub uniform shirt but not their scarf or woggle these are part of the investiture ceremony. The cub uniform shirt can be worn before investiture, although is not required. Scarf, woggle and badges cannot. All are required for the investiture.

Uninvested “New Chums” do not participate in “Grand Howl” during parade or salute the flag. Joeys linking also do not participate in the “Grand Howl” but can salute the flag.

Badge work is not compulsory but helps your Cub Scout get the most out of Scouting.

Unit Meeting Times

St Johns Wood Cub Scouts have two Cub Scout Units., Monday Night Cubs and 2. Wednesday Night Cubs.

Unit meeting times are detailed on the main group page

Purpose of Scouting

The Purpose of the Scout Movement is to contribute to the education of young people in achieving their full physical, intellectual, emotional, social and spiritual potentials as individuals, as responsible citizens and as members of their local, national and international communities. Scouting builds resilience, self-confidence and leadership skills in our youth.

St Johns Wood. Scouts is part of the of the largest youth movement in the world with over 40 million youth members and inviting community members aged 5 and up to join anytime during the year

Meeting times

St Johns Wood has all units and meet weekly at various times

Scouting is run by Volunteers so sometimes there may be a delay in getting back to you due to Family, Work and other scouting Commitments.

Please fill in the "New member enquiry" form on the right) and we usually reply within 24 hours.

There are also many other ways to contact u

Badges and Awards

Achievement Badges

There are a total of 34 Achievement badges organised in 4 categories to choose from and each badge has two levels (green and maroon). Cub Scouts can work on those badges that are of interest to them. They should choose the level which is a challenge to them, not just the level which is the easiest. Our suggestion is for 8-9 year olds to look at level 1 and 9-10 year olds to aim for level 2. Cub Scouts should discuss the badge with a Leader before commencing it to make sure they understand the requirements.

Boomerang Badges

There are special Boomerang Badges earned at cubs and there are 3 levels to this Bronze, Silver and Gold. A youth member will be started at the appropriate level for the age they are when they begin their cub journey. Boomerang work is usually incorporated into the programming of Pack activities although occasionally there is a requirement for your child to work on parts at home. Boomerang challenges contain Scouting and life skills and prepare your Cub Scout for life in general as well as the Scout section.

Grey Wolf Award

The highest award that a Cub Scout can earn is the Grey Wolf Award. To receive the Grey Wolf Award a Cub Scout must be 10 years old and have completed all requirements before their 11th birthday. The Grey wolf award is not for every cub and is something for each cub to discuss with their Leader and Parents.

Upcoming Events

If you use google calendar, add this calendar to your calendars (subscribe) using Cub Scouts: or website